Portugal were held 2-2 at Serbia in a 2022 World Cup qualifier on Saturday, but in stoppage time, Cristiano Ronaldo thought he had won it for Fernando Santos’ men.
However, the officials failed to spot the ball had crossed the line. The Juventus striker was fuming and threw the captain’s armband down to the floor in anger.
Portugal drew 2-2 at Serbia in a World Cup qualifier, but Cristiano Ronaldo was denied a perfectly good goal in second half stoppage time.
A Cristiano Ronaldo no le convalidaron este gol que significaba la victoria de Portugal 🇵🇹 ante Serbia 🇷🇸
El atacante tiró la cinta de capitán y se retiró del terreno. pic.twitter.com/XYKGbSb2XY
— Laura (@LauraaCuellar) March 27, 2021
Cristiano Ronaldo’s shot looked to have crossed the line when Stefan Mitrovic slid in to clear, but Dutch referee Danny Makkelie and his officials failed to spot it.
The Portugal captain was furious with the decision and he was booked for his protests. Then, at the end of the match, he waved his arms in disgust and threw the armband down.
Serbia had fought back from two goals down after Aleksandar Mitrovic and Filip Kostic had cancelled out Diogo Jota’s brace.
It was a great fightback by Serbia, but the late goal disallowed will be what is remembered most.